Project Learning Tree

Unknown images

I had the opportunity to participate in a Project learning Tree (PLT) seminar a few weeks ago.  I already knew that incorporating environmental education into my classroom was something I really value, but interacting with PLT gave me great supports and resources to make that incorporation easier and more available. 

Exploring the PLT websites (plt.org) after the seminar I found some facts that were interesting, if not depressing:

  • American children ages 3 -12 spend 27 percent of their time each week watching television, and only 1 percent outdoors.
  • Children ages 8 – 18 engaged in over seven hours of media time (e.g., watching TV, listening to music, using the Internet/computer, playing video games) each day.
  •  Approximately 17% (or 12.5 million) of U.S. children and adolescents aged 2—19 years were obese in 2008.
  • In 2000 two-thirds of the public failed a basic environmental quiz and 88 percent failed a basic energy quiz.

Thinking about this information, and the consequences of the limited amount of time children are spending outside, I’m reminded of a book I read a few years ago.  In Richard Louv’s novel, Last Child in the Woods, he links the lack of nature in todays generation – he calls it nature-deficit disorder – to some of the most disturbing childhood trends, such as the rise in obesity, attention disorders, and depression.  Louv offers practical solutions and simple ways to mend this broken bond, many of which align with the mission of PLT.

All of this information has solidified for me the importance of allowing students more time outdoors.  Working with Julie from Project Learning Tree was a great reminder of how easily and organically we can connect any content with outdoor education.  I’m excited to investigate the PLT text for new ways to integrate outdoor education across all content.  

One thought on “Project Learning Tree

  1. As an advocate of the outdoors myself, I really resonated with the PLT seminar too! Our students need to have the opportunity to explore the world around them and get fresh air. There is so much to discover if we just look away from the screens that lure us in. Many people don’t realize that the outdoors can provide us with inspiration for our writing, can engage us in mathematics, and teach us about life. I was excited to be provided with the resources to take my classroom outside!

    How do we make outdoors learning a priority in our school community? I feel we all have the tools to make the first step towards getting not only our students outdoors, but also the rest of the school community!

Leave a comment